25th Conference of the ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organisation (CAFEO 25)

The Cebu Declaration, 29th November, 2007

We, the Chief Representatives from all the national engineering organizations in the 10 ASEAN member-countries, collectively known as the ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organisations (AFEO), namely,

- Pertubuhan Ukur Jurutera dan Arkitek Brunei Darussalam (PUJA), Brunei,
- Engineering Institution of Cambodia (EIC), Cambodia,
- Persatuan Insinyur Indonesia (PII), Indonesia,
- Laos Union of Science and Engineering Association (LUSEA), Laos,
- The Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM), Malaysia,
- Myanmar Engineering Society (MES), Myanmar,
- Philippines Technological Council (PTC), Philippines,
- The Institution of Engineers, Singapore (**IES**), Singapore,
- The Engineering Institution of Thailand (EIT), Thailand, and
- Vietnam Union of Science & Technology Association (**VUSTA**), Vietnam, assembled in Cebu, Philippines from 27th to 29th November, 2007 for the 25th Conference

of the ASEAN Federation of Engineers Organisations (i.e. CAFEO 25);

• Recollecting that at CAFEO 22 (December, 2004) AFEO for the first time and on behalf of ASEAN engineering stakeholders, by way of the *Yangon Declaration* called on the ASEAN Heads of States (i.e. the ASEAN Summit) and the ASEAN Economic Ministers (AEM) to recognize ASEAN Engineers' Hope, Aspiration and Position being articulated by the ASEAN Engineers Register (AER) as the competent party truly representing ASEAN engineering stakeholders to the then ASEAN Framework Agreement on Services' Coordinating Committee on Services i.e AFAS'

- CCS on-going negotiations on the ASEAN MRA (i.e. Mutual Recognition Arrangement) on Engineering Services;
- **Peclaration** that at CAFEO 23 (December, 2005) AFEO by way of the **Vientiane Declaration** called on the ASEAN Summit and the AEM that in the endeavour to realize the formation of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) should mobilize ASEAN engineering stakeholders as those registered with the AER as the relevant ASEAN Civil Society Organisation i.e. ASEAN CSO representatives in ASEAN policy making bodies dealing with Science and Engineering, Technology and Innovation, i.e. S&ETI integrated professional services;
- Remembering that at CAFEO 24 (December, 2006) AFEO by way of the *Kuala Lumpur Declaration* noted that AFEO will collaborate with the ASEAN Member State/Governments together with or through ASEAN Secretariat in the promotion, development, implementation and the operation and maintenance of the ASEAN Chartered Professional Engineer Register (ACPER) with the eventual operationalisation and maintenance of a SINGLE Register, a convergence of the two Registers, namely ACPER and the AER (ASEAN Engineers Register)

We at CAFEO 25 therefore Resolve that:-

- AFEO member countries will take pro-active steps towards implementation of MRA and to actively engage the ASEAN Secretariat and in particular the ASEAN Chartered Professional Engineer Coordinating Committee (ACPECC) to operationalize the ASEAN MRA on Engineering Services
- AFEO members have initiated the following work groups in additional of AER for the promotion of the branding of the professional engineering services, integrated engineering services and education to accelerate the achievement of these goals.
 - Environmental and Energy Work Group
 - Education and Training Work Group

The Cebu Declaration 27th November, 2007

SO RESOLVED AND AGREED BY:

Pertubuhan Ukur Jurutera & Akitek (PUJA), Brunei Darussalam	Engineering Institution of Cambodia (EIC), Cambodia
Persatuan Insinyur Indonesia (PII), Indonesia	The Lao Union of Science and Engineering Association (LUSEA), Laos
The Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM), Malaysia	Myanmar Engineering Society (MES), Myanmar
The Philippine Technological Council (PTC), Philippines; concurrently Chairman - CAFEO 25	The Institution of Engineers, Singapore (IES), Singapore
The Engineering Institute of Thailand (EIT), Thailand	Vietnam Union of Science and Technology Association (VUSTA), Vietnam

Engr. Rocky H.T. Wong AER - Head Commissioner

Engr. Tan Yean Chin AFEO - Secretary General